Why Blog?

Why blog?

I confess.  People (and God) have been telling me to write for some time now.  And call it laziness, call it fear, call it being stretched to the four winds with all the other things that take up my time, but I just haven’t done it.
Personally, the thought of writing a book isn’t all that appealing to me.  I recently stopped in to the used bookstore here in my city and I see what happens to books at the end of their lives.  One famous writer said that there is nothing new under the sun.  The sun resides in that warehouse.  If I’m to write a book it will need to be an act of God.
That said, I believe the world of blogging is even worse.  Every Tom, Dick and Jane blogs nowadays.  Mostly Jane.  But I’m sure Tom and Dick are busy spilling their life and livelihood and first child’s most recent accomplishment all over cyberspace, too.
And yet, here I am.
One thing I DON’T want to do is create another homey, crafty, foody, frugal, DIY blog smattered (I love the word smattered) with pastel, gently focused photos of my children and my food.  I LOVE the ones I read, but… I read them.  All three dozen of them.  The world doesn’t need more of those. (no offense to those who have blogs like that… I love you… I just don’t want to compete with you!)
No… I am blogging because simplicity is something we could all use a measure of.  I am blogging because I saw a quote on Pinterest that said, “The World Needs Your Story” and I was convicted.  I am blogging because I want to keep writing and my ten years of old journals are buried by a lake in Thailand.
I am blogging because my brain is too full for that tiny box on my facebook status.  And because maybe, just maybe, there is someone out there who will read this and be encouraged to begin a journey of their own.
Leave a Reply

