Sometimes You Just Know

Ladybug

Do you ever just know?

I can’t explain it.  How there have been times in my life when I just knew that I knew that I knew and so I did it.  Have you ever experienced this?

It’s thrilling, really.

And amazing.

And mysterious.

And peaceful.

It’s easy to miss, though.  And for every moment I’m about to share, I’m sure that I’ve missed a thousand.

We miss moments like these.  For whatever reason.

We’re too busy to notice the choice is there.  We’re too caught up in what other people are doing that we don’t do things of our own accord (or as we are being led).  Or it just seems too crazy.  It doesn’t make sense.  That can’t possibly be right.  So we turn and walk away from what could have been the most life-changing decision of our lives.

I’m not saying run out and do everything crazy that presents itself.  But if craziness calls… at least give it a tweet.  Make sure it’s not a legit cry in your soul daring you to obey and be amazed.

************

For me, my first real crazy moment was at the end of college.  I was about to be offered a good, safe, steady job near my hometown OR I could move overseas for a year with no real pay and no idea what I was doing.  Only one logical choice for a new college grad, right?  Wrong.  Who said anything about logic?  This is God we’re talking about.

One day I got the call from the job near my hometown and as soon as he said the words, “We want you!” something deep in my soul whispered, “no.”  And I knew that I knew that I knew that I had to turn down this job.  That I should go overseas.  So I did.

Changed my whole life.

Then there was the time I was emailing with this boy I had met in Thailand.  We had become good friends… so when he asked me to marry him (four months later) I simply replied, “Ok.”  I just knew!  There was no one else in the world I wanted to spend forever with.

Changed my whole life.  Again.

And of course I can’t leave out the time we were joking about possible girl names, if we ever had kids… HA!  But a day later?

You guessed it…

I knew.

By the end of that week we had put our plans fully into God’s hands and within three weeks, the Pickle was en route.  I promise you, we knew her NAME before she was even conceived.  That’s how specific it was.

So a couple weeks ago as the end of our lease loomed, I nonchalantly got on Craigslist to see if we could possibly find a house to rent.  A bit bigger, with a yard, and a fireplace, in a good location, good price.  I wasn’t putting any limitations on this search at all… hahaha.

I looked at every house available within our price range.  Some were good.  Some not so good.  Some were nice houses, but in a bad spot.  Some were great spots, but not great houses.  When suddenly… there it was.

And as soon as I saw it, I knew.

Four days later we paid the deposit.

We move in June.

Did I mention my husband has never seen it?

House.

I have no idea what is in store for us in this house.

I don’t know what God yet has planned.  What life we will live there.  How our world will change.  What other decisions will come up that will lead us further and further into the mysterious future.  But I do know this:

Call it crazy or call it God, it’s worked for us so far.

And I wouldn’t change a thing.

Leave a Reply

