Apple Curry Couscous

It’s a rare and precious thing when I have couscous and apples in my house at the same time.

So you can imagine my delight the other day when I was searching my cupboards for something to fix for dinner and made this connection.

Time to whip out a trusted recipe that we ate in Thailand (our first year of being a married couple in our own home…with a kitchen).

So maybe it’s not my husband’s favorite meal… he’s more of a steak and potatos kind of guy.  But it is definitely one of my favorite… and occasionally, women, you just have to make things that make you happy and let the rest of the world deal with it.

I apologize that I ate it too fast to get a picture… I’m new to this photo-blogging thing, but for your mouth-watering enjoyment here are a few pics I found online.

curriedcouscousrecipe

Mine did not look like this… but this is a pic from one of my favorite blogs 101 Cookbooks. Check it out! http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/001509.html

apple-couscous-2

Mine looks more like this. Mmm… this is from a blog I’ve never read, but looks pretty good. http://www.generationyfoodie.com/2012/01/apple-curry-couscous.html

So here’s my ever-tweaked, ever-changing, but oh-so-yummy recipe for Apply Curry Couscous (with Chicken):

APPLE CURRY COUSCOUS

Ingredients (serves 2 1/2):

1-2 Chicken breasts, cubed              1 C. chicken broth

1/3 C. chopped Onion                       1 C. dry couscous

1 Apple, cubed                                     4 Tbls butter

1/3 C. raisins                                        curry powder

1/3 C. nuts (if desired)                       1 Tbls brown sugar

olive oil                                                  Salt & Pepper

garlic powder

1. In large sauté pan, sauté chicken breasts & onions in olive oil until cooked through & tender.

2. Bring chicken broth, 1 Tbls butter, and 1/4 tsp curry powder to a boil.  Remove from heat.  Stir in couscous, cover, and let stand 5 minutes.

3.  While couscous is sitting, add 2 Tbls butter to sauté pan with chicken & onion, add apples, raisins & nuts.  Saute with desired amount of garlic powder, curry powder, salt & pepper.

4. Fold couscous into sauté pan with last Tbls butter and brown sugar.  Stir all ingredients together over low heat until brown sugar & butter is dissolved and ingredients are evenly blended.  Add more curry powder and s&p to taste.  I also stirred in some milk in the end to keep it moist.

Here’s the tricky part… I like mine with a lot of curry flavor.  When I use curry powder, I never know how much to use.  But there’s an answer to that!  Next time you’re in the grocery store, check out the Asian food section.  You should stumble upon one of these!

Just throw 1/2 block of this curry mix into your couscous broth and 1/2 block into your sauté pan IN PLACE of the curry powder, brown sugar and garlic powder.  It’s dreamy!

Then a few nights later, make this delicious Japanese curry according to the recipe on the box and serve over rice.  You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

