Music.

Concert

Music has always been part of my life… whether I’ve realized it or not.

As a child, I remember my dad cranking up the oldies station in the car and all of us singing at the top of our lungs.  From that time on, whenever people asked me what kind of music I listened to as a kid I would sheepishly admit… oldies.  I hardly ever listened to anything else.  Maybe country, although now I can hardly stand any of it.  But I still listen to oldies.  And I love them.  And I still sing them at the top of my lungs.

They are heart-felt, poppy, make you wanna get up and dance kind of songs.  They were simple.  And fun.  And defined an era.

As all music does, I suppose.

But maybe, more than an era, they just defined me well.

Today when people ask me what music I like, I really don’t have an answer.  I can tell you songs from a million different genres that have all but defined my life over the years.  But I don’t really ‘listen’ to any type of music.  And I definitely don’t know anything that’s “in” right now, if we even still use that term.

So it’s an incredible thing when my head pops up from my computer and I look at my husband and say, “Hey!  Will you buy me this song on Amazon?!”  Because he’s the music guy in the house.  And he’s also the one with the well-worn Amazon account.

Last week he had something hooked up to something and something was flipped to some channel and something else… anyways.  Music from his computer was coming out of our TV.  I love it when he does that because I start playing jukebox… and somehow his Megadeth morphed into Michael Buble!

In the end, Pickle and I were dancing up a storm, and while I spun my her around the room giggling, I thought to myself, “I should listen to more MUSIC!”

One day when I was in my first trimester and too sick to get out of bed, I sat there all day on my computer.  Checking facebook.  Reading blogs.  Typing about how sick I was in my pregnancy journal.  When I stumbled upon a blog where a woman shared some of her favorite songs that she listens to with her kids.  In that post, she introduced me (living in Thailand at the time and somewhat withdrawn from the American music scene) to Michael Buble’s “I Just Haven’t Met You Yet.”  It was love at first… listen?  I played it over and over and immediately had my husband buy it for me.

At that moment, a song captured my heart and life and spirit and season perfectly… and I was dancing with the baby girl growing inside me.

The other day during our jukebox time… I danced to that song with my two year old.

Music is a part of my life… whether I realize it or not.

****************

So, to return the favor of that blog post almost three years ago, here are some of my life-defining songs that I ALWAYS request when we play jukebox.  I’m sure you know a lot of these, but even those you don’t, I promise they will get your soul floating and your feet dancing!Music

I Just Haven’t Met You Yet by Michael Buble

I Believe in a Thing Called Love by The Darkness

Overwhelmed by Tim McMorris

Months and Years by Abandon Kansas

The End by Pearl Jam

Just Breathe by Pearl Jam

Unity by Shinedown

All I Want is You by Barry Louis Polisar (from Juno)

If I Had Words by …uh… some mice (from babe)

Hey, Soul Sister by Train

Busted Heart by For King and Country

Home by Phillip Phillips

************

What are some of your favorite songs?

Leave a Reply

