Wow.

Lots of People

Would you like me to blow your mind?

We watched a movie tonight.  Prometheus to be exact.  Prequel to the Alien series.  Eighties babies, you remember it well.  Sigourney Weaver never made bald look better.  And that sweet little girl!  Awww…

Anyways… point is.  It’s a new movie.  Digital design.  Graphic art.  Computer animation.  Fancy stuff.  Very realistic.  Intricately designed.  And at the end of the movie, we watched the credits.

I’m sorry, but movie credits nowadays just blow me away.

They are half an hour long.

8 point font.

Lists and lists and lists of names.

Who keeps track of all these names?!  (and let me tell you, there are some cool names!  Asian names, Indian names, Jewish names, Scandinavian names.  Rockin’ names.  You thought North West was original?  Watch the end credits of your next movie.)

The screen is covered in them.  If you want to really be mesmerized, watch the Lord of the Rings credits.

What’s so mind-blowing about this, you ask?

Every 8pt. font name belongs to a person who has a job, however small, in the movie industry, who lives in a house or apartment, who has a mom and a dad, who perhaps is married, maybe has kids, has interests, favorite foods, bad days… a life.

So either you can be blown away that a person’s whole life can be reduced to a 5 second scroll up a black screen twenty minutes after a movie in 8pt. font.

(I just picture some kid sitting in his living room with his mom and dad rewinding half a dozen times screaming, “There it was.  Did you see it?  No, right there.  On the left.  In the middle.  No, between Javier  and Muhammed.  No.  Right next to Xan.  Do you see it?  No, mom.  Right there!”)

OR

You can be amazed that those thousands and thousands (and in LOTR’s case a few thousand more) of names belong to people with real, full lives- just like you and me.  It blows me away.  Helps me realize my place on this earth.  Helps me respect the enormous body that makes up humanity.  Not just my little sphere of influence.  Or my city.  Or my country.  But the fact that there are just

so.

many.

people.

I am so humbled by movie credits.

And I wonder what those people are doing right now?

And I wonder if they’re going through a hard time?

Or celebrating a beautiful moment?

Or still working on yet another small part in an enormous production?

Do they love their job?

Do they love their life?

Are they loved?

Am I just weird or is this incredible to anyone else but me?

Can I confess to you that if I sit through credits long enough to reach this overwhelmed point, I start praying for the names on the screen?

As fast as my eyes can grab them (and usually first names only, since I can’t pronounce three fourths of their last names).  I pray for joy.  I pray for peace.  I pray for contentment in life.  I pray for unknown needs.  Or health.  Or struggles.  Or protection.

The end credits often make me cry…

Because they’re not just names.  They’re people.  Thousands of people.

People I will never know.

Or meet.

Or sit next to.

Or share a cup of coffee with.

But I believe God knows each of them.  Each job.  Each family.  Each struggle.  Each joy.

And I believe He cares about them ever so deeply.

And can pronounce all their names…

perfectly.

“Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care.  And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered.  So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” -Matthew 10:29-31End Credits

2 thoughts on “Wow.

  1. Glad to know there is someone else like me who finds credits fascinating and just wonders about the people and their lives… and wonders if one day in heaven we’ll see the credits roll and we will see how our little bit fit in to make the big picture. God bless you for sharing your thoughts.

  2. You are very wise for one so young. What a way to put your faith in action. I, being much older, have never thought too seriously about movie credits and I’ve missed many opportunities to pray for people because of it. I will never look at movie credits the same again. Keep being who you are and Please, keep writing!

Leave a Reply

