Busy.

I’m beat.

My car messed up after work on Monday.

Had to take it in on Tuesday.  And no… I didn’t try anything on Tuesday.  Unless you consider a date with my husband which began with me going to JoAnn’s and him going to Best Buy (at the same time… not together) followed by dinner at Chuy’s something new.

Sat at the sewing machine on Wednesday (until I realized I had an appointment to go pick up Sweet P’s amazing Christmas present and I was late and I couldn’t find my phone… and it was in P’s potty)

Subbed on Thursday.  Also watched my kid bolt out of Crazy 8’s with a skirt (still on its hanger) and run down the mall at full sprint.

Worked today.

And every night has been tears and wails and cries and gnashing of teeth.  Sometimes in the middle of the night.  Once she was so wide awake that she played in her kitchen and dumped water in her bed.  So I changed sheets at 2am.

That’s what kind of week it’s been.

But don’t worry.  It gets better.

Tomorrow I get to go switch out to another car first thing in the morning so my husband can get off work at 1:30 and drive us to Nashville for the night.

Where me and the screaming, emotional (maybe teething?) toddler will board a plane at 8am Sunday morning to spend 10 glorious days in my hometown.

Did I mention she hasn’t been sleeping well?

And I predict that will not change… not even in 10 days.

But we’re excited.  And I’m just trying to keep up.  So blogging has gone by the wayside.

But I will be attending my Grandpa’s 90th birthday party.  So much love and cherishing in one place is going to be unbearable.  Wishing I could hug him tight enough and say just the right words to let him know just how blessed I am to have him… for however long he decides to stick around now that Grandma has gone on ahead.  Wish I could wipe away the inevitable or cling to the ten bajillion memories I have tight enough that they all just magically come back and turn into the Grandparents and Aunts and Uncles and people of my youth that I so ignorantly took for granted.

But…

I have a temperamental toddler to tend to.   And some adorable two year olds who are anxious to start a new year of school when I return.  And a husband who is going to miss us, being tied down to life and responsibility and manhood.  My Grandpa would be proud.  And then there are the Grandparents and the Cousins and the Aunts and Uncles and adopted Aunts and Uncles and even the people who we didn’t adopt as Aunts and Uncles who just kind of bust their way into our lives to get a glimpse of Sweet P being sweet and P-ish.  I’ll need to take care of them.

And I’ll visit the new baby.

And I’ll lead the Vacation Bible School.

And I’ll watch my Pickle venture out and explore the home and woods and hills where I grew up.  Ever more independently.  Ever more curiously.

And so life zips by one moment, one new word, one exhausting Monday, one day at a time.

Somewhere in all of that, I hope I don’t miss the most important things.

And I may forget to blog.

One thought on “Busy.

Leave a Reply

