More

More.A few weeks ago we were driving home and my sweet Pickle was in the back… whining.

She wanted more apple juice.

Of course, I was driving, so I couldn’t give her more apple juice.  All I could do was assure her that when we got home she would get more apple juice.  But, of course, that wasn’t good enough.  Home was not NOW.  And waiting was not MORE.

She continued to whine, “More apple juice. (cue fake tears) I. Want. More… sniff sniff… Apple Juice!!!”

So I decided I would join in with her.  I started in my high-pitched, whiny voice that suddenly quieted her down and caught her attention.

“Well, I want more…”

But then I got stuck.

She wanted more apple juice.  Fair enough.  When I run out of Cherry Coke, I want more, too.  But as I tried to come up with something clever to lash back at my two-year old’s whining, I really didn’t want to sound like a whiner.  I wanted to sound like a wise old mommy who was content with life in general.

What did I want more of, REALLY?

And do you know what?

I couldn’t think of anything to say.

For every “want” I came up with I also came up with a million “thankful for what I have”s.  More money?  No.  More food?  No.  More things?  No.  A nicer car?  Newer clothes?  A bigger house?  Less laundry?

Nope.  Nope.  Nope.

It was one of those revelations for me that in all my busyness and complaining and going and doing and being I had forgotten how happy and blessed I really was.  Until my kiddo was complaining…

and I just couldn’t.

Less laundry would mean fewer people in my house and fewer experiences in our week.

A nicer car would mean a bigger payment, whereas right now we have no payments.

A bigger house would mean more cleaning and more stuff and less contentment.

More food would mean… well, it could mean a lot of things.  But we don’t need more.  We have exactly what we need.

I could say I want a lot of things, but none of them would be true deep, deep down in my heart.  So in an effort to be honest with my toddler, I had to also be honest with myself.

What’s true is that I have a husband whom I adore and who adores me in return.  I have a beautiful, healthy, precious little girl who amazes me and makes me smile every day.  I live in a beautiful, serene neighborhood in a townhome just perfect for our little family.  My husband and I both have vehicles that get us where we need to go, which is unheard of in many places around the world.  And above all else, I am loved and favored and blessed and filled by the Creator of the Universe who knew my name from before time began.  If I had nothing else but that, it would be enough.

Deep down in my heart, if I am really honest with myself…

I want for nothing more.

Not even Apple Juice.

**************

During this month of Thankfulness, join me in ignoring the need for more and instead being thankful for what we already have.

 

You may also like:

The Good Pillow Open Your Eyes Why I slept beside my child last night

2 thoughts on “More

  1. Have you ever published a book? If not, you should. I’d buy the first copy! You have such a way with words. I’m happy to join you in ignoring the wants for more. Contentment is key. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

