25 Days of Christmas: Day 2

The Plan:

When the Pickle was still in my belly, I registered for the Little People Noah’s Ark.  I loved it so much, I couldn’t wait to give it to her for her first Christmas.  That same Christmas, she got the entire Little People Nativity and the Little People Santa’s Sleigh as well!  I love Little People- how cute they are.  How they fit perfectly in little hands.  How they sometimes make noises and always encourage creative role-play.

Instead of letting her have them out all year, though, I keep them fresh and interesting by letting her open them a little bit at a time during her 25 Days of Christmas.  So today, the Pickle will open the Shepherds set of her Nativity.  We will talk about how the angels came to the shepherds to announce the birth of Jesus.  We will make sheep bleat and angels trumpet.  And we will announce to everyone about the birth of Jesus!

The Reality:

Monday was crazy.  We were gone all day, came home, I threw together dinner, and I was gonna put her to bed early so I could rush off to a Mom’s Blog Christmas Party.  She opened the gift in a hurry.  I ran upstairs to grab the sheep that went with it.  Tossed them into the pile as she looked at the pieces, confused.  I hurriedly said, “Look!  It’s the Shepherds!  The Angels came and said, ‘Don’t be afraid.  Jesus is born!”  Then I ran back into the kitchen to finish dinner.

She watched Mickey Mouse and kept stepping on the toy.  So I told her to put it back under the tree so she didn’t hurt it.  Naturally, she grabbed each little piece of hillside & palm tree, each sheep and her lone little shepherd…

and chucked them under the tree without a thought.

Magical, I know.

Leave a Reply

