25 Days of Christmas: Day 7

The Plan:

Today we will be in the mountains at our annual family reunion.  With this in mind, I’ve prepared a few smaller gifts for her to open that won’t require much space in her bag.  Today we will open all the stuff we need to make a fun Christmas craft with her cousins!  We did this last year and it was really fun to keep the kids occupied and do something Christmasy with our extended family.

The Reality:

Are you kidding me?  A Christmas craft to do with her cousins?  I was lucky I stumbled up on some cute Mouse House stickers in the dollar bin at JoAnn’s to take up there.  You know… to give them something different to look at for five minutes.  Of course, those were the kind of stickers that are cheap and don’t come off the paper well without ripping.  So in reality, my sisinlaw and I spent twenty minutes sitting there clawing at these awful stickers while our kids just got bored and walked away.

Worse yet, they weren’t actually “opened”… I just threw them on the table.

And if that’s not bad enough, I forgot to pack a book for bedtime (in additional to our Christmas devotional which I DID remember- score mom!).  So I had her open the package for day 8 on the night of day 6 so we could have a story to read the two nights we were up there.  Which means… tomorrow will never happen.

Leave a Reply

