The One Thing I Won’t Do This Summer

Summer SunWe’re going to the beach.

In just a few weeks I will be lying on white sand soaking up the sun, the surf… and probably a margarita. I’ll watch my kids play in the sand.  I’ll revel in their joy, bask in their beautiful memory-making, and thoroughly enjoy the way that they crash HARD at night.

But there is one thing that I won’t do.

I won’t try to get a tan.

The DayI won’t lay on my towel in hopes that the sun will defy science and leave me without tan lines. I won’t find the lowest number of sunscreen just to say I was using some and then conveniently forget to apply it after a few hours. Those days are over… and for good reason.

I should know better, right?  After years at the lake and the beach burning into a complete lobster.  You’d think I’d learn. But I didn’t.

Even when my Grandma wisely stayed under the shady boat cover to protect her fair skin.

All. Summer. Long.

Even when I burned so badly on a beach in Thailand that it took two weeks for my forehead to start peeling.

Even when a small red spot appeared on my chest and never went away… for eight years.

I never learned.

Knoxville_Contributor_BTNBut here I am to tell you that my days in the sun are over.  Wisdom has finally prevailed because the consequences are just not worth it anymore.

I met a man this year who changed the way I will look at the sun forever.  You can read all about it at the Knoxville Moms Blog, then please… pass it along to someone you care about.

And have a safe, wonderful summer!

One thought on “The One Thing I Won’t Do This Summer

  1. Great to hear that you try not to get too much sun. I am one of Rebecca Pendarvis’s Facebook friends. She used to lay out in the sun. She achieved a very dark tan. A few years ago she got a kind of skin cancer, which has affected more than just her skin. If you are interested in learning more about her, you can like, follow or become Facebook friends with her. Just tell her that one of her Facebook friends, Linda Lung, told you about her. We are only mild acquaintances. I don’t remember how I first heard of her. She also has a Caring Bridge page (CaringBridge.com). Her daughter’s name is Brooklyn (just to help you know that you have found the right person on Facebook).

Leave a Reply

